Nebulisers

I have had my own nebuliser now for over 25 years and over that time I have owned various different types and models all coming in different shapes and sizes. Some were excellent, others not so.

I know that some medical professionals are against the use of home nebulisers while others believe in the benefits.

I suppose those that are against it will say that if your reliever inhaler isn’t helping and nebulisers are required then medical attention should be sought.

On the other hand I know that my own nebulisers have helped prevent numerous hospital admissions and have also helped me escape hospital far quicker because I can nebulise at home.

What I would always say is that anybody who feels they would benefit from using a nebuliser at home should discuss it with their doctor / respiratory team.

Even if you have to pay for your own nebuliser the prices are now very affordable (however I would be careful about paying just a few pounds for a cheap, unbranded one from China off of eBay).

Most high street pharmacies stock them (or can order them) and prices often start at less than a £100. Nebulisers can now even be bought from the likes of Argos and for those who prefer shopping on line Amazon always have a large selection.

From personal experience I would highly recommend a company called Evergreen Nebulisers who are based in Wigan. They offer a good selection of mains powered and portable battery powered machines all at reasonable prices. They also offer good impartial advice (they once convinced me to buy a cheaper model than the one I initially intended to order). They also sell replacement parts and masks along with other respiratory aids such as flutter devices (mucus clearance). Orders can be made on line or over the phone and delivery is very quick. Their website is helpful along with a very useful blog which is updated regularly. The web site address is: http://evergreen-nebulizers.co.uk/

If you are going to purchase a nebuliser the first decision to make is whether you require a mains operated (for use at home) or a portable one which can be used for travelling or at work, these usually work from an internal rechargeable battery or by using normal AA or AAA batteries. Due to the fact that I travel 60 miles to work everyday (when I’m not sick) I always carry a portable nebuliser with me, the one I cuuently use is so small that it firs comfortably into my pocket and is no bigger than my inhaler. I then also have a mains operated machine which is the one I tend to use while at home.

My pocket nebuliser is a Microbase Pocket Airneb and is less than 3 inches high. It operates silently (which is very handy for using while out and about). I purchased mine from Amazon for about £70. It operates off of 2 x AA alkaline batteries (which provides approx 80 minutes of nebulising) can be used with or without a mask and also comes with a carry case (which I don’t use as it adds too much bulk to carry about). A mains adaptor can also be purchased. This pocket machine is so discreet, nobody knows that I am carrying it and can’t be heard when in use. I take it everywhere and it gives me that extra reassurance that should I become unwell while out and about I have this at hand.


I absolutely love this nebuliser due to its size and can’t recommend it highly enough. There are plenty of other portable nebulisers out there which do a similar job, such as the ever popular Omron MicroAir U22 (which can be bought from Evergreen for £79). I have previously owned one of these and it is absolutely fine, also operates silently and also is powered by 2 x AA alkaline batteries. This also comes with a carry case and can be used with either a mouth piece or mask. It is however slightly bigger than the Pocket Air which I currently use and even though it would fit into a reasonable size handbag it would struggle to fit into an average size pocket.

The mains powered nebuliser that I use is the InnoSpire Deluxe which is made by Philips Respironics. I purchased mine from Evergreen and are currently available on their website at £95. The nebuliser is very popular and is often used in hospitals. The machine is quite noisy but no more than any other mains power nebuliser. Again I would highly recommend this if your looking for a nebuliser to use at home.


I have had various other nebulisers and would never hesitate in using machines from Omron, Pari, Philips Respironic or Medix.

Important things to remember:

Always discuss with your doctor / respiratory team whether your own nebuliser would benefit you, never buy a nebuliser unless your GP will prescribe the nebules to use in them.

Decide whether you want a portable or mains operated machine.

All nebulisers need cleaning regularly.

Don’t just purchase a cheap nebuliser from China on eBay, it is likely to be of a poor standard.

If you have any thoughts comments on this article or have any thoughts on any nebulisers or the use of them I would love to hear them.

3 thoughts on “Nebulisers

  1. I wish nebulisers would be prescribed to me – I am too high risk and if I need a neb then I really should be in the company of a health care professional!! I have tried persuading and persuading but nothing!

    Like

    1. It’s strange how different area trusts and profresionals think differently on something which should be straight forward. Having my portable nebuliser gives me the confidence to leave home and try and lead a normal life.
      I was recently discharged from hospital after a 3 week stay but only because I had my own nebuliser, for a week at home I had to take the neb every 2 hours (don’t even talk about the shakes it gave me), but boy did I feel better (psychologically and physically) at home rather than spending a 4th week in hospital. I suppose that my neb even saved the NHS some money!

      Like

  2. I have a mains nebuliser given by the trust which I keep at home and is serviced regularly.
    Up my dads I have a mains neb from evergreen, which I bought myself for when I am there, rather than carry the other one round, and I have my life saving portable, also from evergreen

    Like

Leave a Reply

